No Spark

A place for all your Diablo Rouge Questions or just a place to shoot the bull about those little Red Devils.
RedHead
No Spark

Post by RedHead » Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:22 pm

Hi I am new to this so bare with me, I picked up a 1969 502 on Sunday :twisted: , brought it home, clean it up, then put a little gas in the carburetor and after pulling a few times it started and run for about 3 seconds. I than turned off the key. Since then I have not been able to get it started again. I made a flywheel puller removed the flywheel to have a look at the points to see if this is where the problem was. The points looked in very good condition, with the flywheel on I checked the gap which is between .015 and .016". I also remove the black wire from the ignition switch but still no spark. Any suggestions of where else to look? Forgot to mention that I tried a new spark plug also.
Thanks
1969 Diablo Rouge
1968 OMC SnowCruiser
2007 Skidoo MXZ
2013 Skidoo MXZ (this one is for my wife) LOL

Go Go Diablo
Site Admin

Re: No Spark

Post by Go Go Diablo » Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:00 pm

Hi Kevin,

Congratulations on your new purchase and welcome to the community of Hus Ski and Diablo enthusiasts.

Kevin has a Diablo 502 so this is the manual start Hirth 54R that is used in both the 500 and 502.

Kevin - you have the right thought in mind trying to isolate the issue by removing the black wire from the key switch. There are certainly times when something as simple as a bad key switch can make one pull their hair out trying to troubleshoot a problem. So here are a couple of comments from my perspective.

- When you test for spark, you typically have to be pulling the recoil to get the motor turning over fast enough to generate a spark. Trying to spin it by hand is not enough.
- The ignition coils and condensers are pretty hearty in these Bosch ignition systems, so they are rarely the problem. Be looking for more simple problems first.